

## **IEA Bioenergy**

IEA Bioenergy is an organisation set up in 1978 by the International Energy Agency (IEA) with the aim of improving cooperation and information exchange between countries that have national programmes in bioenergy research, development and deployment.

The IEA acts as energy policy advisor to 28 member countries plus the European Commission, in their effort to ensure reliable, affordable, and clean energy for their citizens.

The IEA mandate incorporates the "Three E's" of balanced energy policy making: energy security, economic development, and environmental protection. Current work focuses on climate change policies, market reform, energy technology collaboration and outreach to the rest of the world, especially major producers and consumers of energy like China, India, Russia and the OPEC countries.

Activities are set up under Technology Collaboration Programmes. These are independent bodies operating in a framework provided by the IEA. There are 42 currently active Technology Collaboration Programmes, one of which is IEA Bioenergy.

IEA Bioenergy's vision is to achieve a substantial bioenergy contribution to future global energy demands by accelerating the production and use of environmentally sound, socially accepted and cost-competitive bioenergy on a sustainable basis, thus providing increased security of supply whilst reducing greenhouse gas emissions from energy use.

IEA Bioenergy offers opportunities to coordinate the work of national programmes across the wide range of bioenergy technologies.

## **Ongoing tasks:**

- Task 33 Gasification of Biomass and Waste
- Task 37 Energy from biogas
- Task 38 Climate change effects of biomass and bioenergy systems
- Task 39 Commercialising 1st and 2nd Generation Liquid Biofuels from Biomass
- Task 43 Biomass Feedstocks for Energy Markets

While New Zealand is not a member of these Task Groups except Task 39 the Bioenergy Association has connections to each Task Group and monitors what each is doing.

Elspeth McRae and Paul Bennett at Scion are the New Zealand representatives on the IEA Bioenergy executive committee.