Our people

Bioenergy Association is committed to reducing its own carbon footprint and to avoid travel related emissions undertakes most meetings by video conferencing.


The Board represents the interests of all members and focuses on the Bioenergy Association governance. More information about the board and member’s voting rights can be found in the members area and the Bioenergy Association Constitution. The association's operational activities are developed and managed by its Interest Groups each of which has a Convener and Committee.

Bioenergy Association board members are:

Grant Smith - MitchellSmith Partnership (Chair)
Paul Bennett - Scion
Grant Dunford - Negawatt Resources
Darren Gilchrist - Oji Fibre Solutions
Tony Oosten - Fonterra Co-operative Group
Sachin Ekbote - BecaAmec 

Interest group conveners are:

Biogas - vacant
Wood energy - Rob Mallinson (Living Energy)
Liquid biofuels & co-products - Simon Arnold (Blended Fuels NZ)
Residential wood pellet heating - Andrew Wilson (EEnergy)

Professional Standards and Complaints Committee:

To avoid any conflicts of interest membership of the committee is established by the Board when the Committee is required to undertake an activity.

The administration team consists of:

Brian Cox - Executive Officer
John Gifford - Wood energy programmes
Anne Phiri - Administration / Memberships / Websites

Members list:

See a list of our members here.