South Taranaki District Council

Bronze member in categories Asset owner / operator, Government facilities, Organisation / Government (policy)

South Taranaki District Council (STDC) is the territorial authority for South Taranaki, which contains the towns of Hāwera (the seat of the district), Manaia, Ōpunake, Patea, Eltham, and Waverley. The District has a population of 29,100 (as of June 2021), and is part of the greater Taranaki Region.

Through our Environment and Sustainability Strategy, STDC is committed to planning for, and responding to, the impacts of climate change through emissions reduction, mitigation and adaptation plans, both on behalf of our organization, but also the communities we serve.

We believe that bioenergy will be a key strategy in ensuring NZ achieves its Paris Agreement targets. There are many potential opportunities for bioenergy creation in South Taranaki and the wider Taranaki region. We see STDC playing a key role in helping to accelerate our district and regions transition to a low emissions, low waste, circular economy future.

Contact: Rebecca Martin
By email:
By phone: 0800 111 323

Company activities:
local government